Saturday, April 30, 2011

NJSFWC State Convention!


This appeared in The Bernardsville News
State women’s clubs convention to meet in Atlantic City 0 comments

The 117th annual New Jersey State Federation of Women’s Clubs (NJSFWC) of the General Federation of Women’s Clubs (GFWC’s) convention will be held from Monday, May 2, to Wednesday, May 4, at the Atlantic City Trump Plaza Hotel in Atlantic City. The convention will be presided over by State President Patty Whitehouse of Gladstone.

The annual convention chairman is Ora Kokol of Woodstown and Mary Wolfe of Vineland is the credentials and registration chairman. Business sessions, workshops, exhibits, awards and entertainment are planned. A banquet on Monday evening, May 2, will feature seven winners of the 30th annual Women of Achievement Awards, which is sponsored by NJSFWC and Douglass Residential College at Rutgers University. The 2011 honorees are Sylvia Axelrod, Dr. Laura Morana, Dr. Mary Norton, Carole A. Wolfe, Dr. Laura McKirdly and Gail Dunlap Reuben.

A banquet honoring club presidents from throughout the State Federation will be held on Tuesday evening, May 3.

For information about local clubs, or to learn more about the NJSFWC, visit the federation website at or call 732-249-5474/5485.

Sunday, April 24, 2011

Margaret Yardley winners announced!


The NJSFWC has announced the 2011 Margaret Yardley Fellowship award winners!
The Margaret Yardley Fellowship Fund was established in 1930 to provide fellowship grants to deserving women who are New Jersey residents pursuing post-graduate advanced studies at the school of their choice. The first contribution to the fund in 1930 was $5,000 given by Farnham Yardley in memory of his mother, the first NJSFWC President Margaret Yardley. NJSFWC has been able to award between six and eight $1,000 fellowship grants to deserving women annually.
The winners are:

Jennifer C. Conticchio, Jacqueline Jackson
Old Bridge, NJ 08857 South Plainfield, NJ 07080

Natalie A. Laucius, Susanna Polihros
Cranford, NJ 07016 Monroe Township, NJ 08831

Maria L.Rodriquez, Amanda K. Trott
Linden, NJ 07036 Garfield, NJ 07026

Considerations used when judging applicants’ qualifications include scholastic achievement, career service potential and charitable endeavors. The grant is applied solely to tuition expenses.

Friday, April 15, 2011

NJSFWC 30th Annual Women of Achievement winners have been announced!


The winners for the 30th annual Women of Achievement awards have been announced and will be honored at an awards ceremony on Monday, May 2nd. The ceremony will take place at the 117th NJSFWC annual convention, to be held at Trump Plaza in Atlantic City.

The awards are sponsored by the New Jersey State Federation of Women’s Club (NJSFWC) of GFWC and Douglas Residential College of Rutgers, the State University.
To be eligible for this honor, each nominee must be a woman who has gained visibility in New Jersey for her contributions, including professional/personal accomplishments, activities and achievements.
Winners include:
Dr. Laura C. Morana, the Superintendent of the Red Bank School District and is a resident of New Providence.
She emigrated from Ecuador as a teenager and taught herself English from her school lessons, watching television, and listening to her classmates at Irvington High School. She taught Bilingual/ESL classes in Elizabeth and then moved on to various administrative positions such as Director of Special Services, principal, and assistant superintendent, culminating with her present one as superintendent.

Sylvia Axelrod resides in Monroe Township and has served as the Executive Director of the National Alliance on Mental Illness-NJ (NAMI-NJ) since 1992. During her tenure she has initiated a wide range of programs focusing on providing education, support, and advocacy for families and consumers. Sylvia has served in the mental health field for 25 years.

Ms. Carol A. Wolfe of Brick is the founder and administrator of Dottie House Inc., which provides shelter and other services for battered women and their children and is the President/Chairman and General Partner of Homes Now Chambers Bridge Project, Inc., and Homes Now, Inc. Dottie House was founded in 1999 in memory of her mother who was a battered woman.

Dr. Mary E. Norton of North Arlington is an Associate Dean and Professor of Global Initiatives at Felician College. She began her medical career as a nurse and received a Masters of Arts and Doctor of Education from Columbia University. She has been the recipient of five Fulbright Awards and several USAID Grants. Dr. Norton has developed baccalaureate and graduate nursing programs in Iran, Pakistan and Jordan.

Dr. Laura McKirdy and Ms. Gail Dunlap Reuben are the co-founders of The Lake Drive Programs for Children Who Are Deaf and Hard of Hearing which was founded in 1977. Dr. McKirdy resides in Mendham Township and has served as a consultant to The Lake Drive Programs since 2005.
Dr. McKirdy was also the founding director of the Department of Speech Pathology at the Morristown Memorial Hospital where Ms. Reuben was the hospital audiologist.

Monday, April 4, 2011


Networking Breakfast

The Networking Breakfast, held at NJSFWC Headquarters was a great success!
A wonderful variety of professional women, all from a variety of non profits attended the breakfast. (see photo to right)
After President Patty Whitehouse gave an overview of the NJSFWC, each attendee had a chance to give an overview of their non profit organization and what services they offer.
Afterwards it was noted was that there was a big similarity in shared services, such as providing support, education and advocacy to the women and families that they serve. This could be used a stepping stone to increase partnerships among the participating agencies in the future.

The non profit organizations that were represented included; Gilda’s Club/The Wellness Community, American Association of University Women, the New Jersey State Federation of Colored Women’s Clubs, National Alliance on Mental Illness, Displaced Homemaker Network of New Jersey, Douglass Alumnae, Breast Cancer Resource Center, Women’s Health and Counseling Center, Heart to Heart, Inc. and YWCA of Eastern Union County.